Create a Professional-Looking Product Advertisment Mockup

Crimson

This tutorial is available as a PDF. Click here to view or download it

Create a Product Advertisement Mockup

version 1.0

I've come to realize that I haven't touched Paint.NET for at least half a year now. Feeling rather nostalgic, I decided to prove that I can indeed still use this program. What better way than to write a tutorial? Plus, I believe this has asked me some time ago how I made these things. This will be my first time writing. Bear with me.

In this tutorial, you'll learn how to create a mock-up ad for a product. The tutorial will create a focus on said product and add effects and photos around it to make it more interesting and lively. To give you an idea, here's what the end result of the tutorial looks like:

I'll start off by saying that this tutorial is not for the complete beginner. There will be a few smaller steps that I will not explain in detail; one, because I assume you already know how to accomplish such, and two because this is not a concrete, follow-verbatim tutorial. There is a lot of room to detour here and there. With that said, think of something you want to advertise, find some free time (it's rather long) and crank up the creative juices! Here we go.

1. Start with a new canvas. I chose a 850x1100 resolution.

2. Fill the canvas with black (#000000).

3. Using the brush tool with a large brush size (around 100-150 for me), Put a few splotches of color that coordinate color-wise in the general center of the image. Don't worry about making it look neat or pretty right now.

4. Apply a Gaussian Blur at 200 px.

5. Since I think the colors are a little too bright, I'm going to tone it down a bit. To achieve the effect I like, I'm going to make a new layer, fill it with black, and turn the opacity down to my liking. When I'm satisfied, I merge the layer down.