Persistence needed during render loops

phrebh

I am trying to write an effect that will average the colors of every pixel in the image/selection and fill the image/selection with that color. I've gotten amazingly close considering I've never done any C# programming before last week, but I've run into problem of the regions used for multi-threading the rendering. Right now I get a series of stripes representing the average color for each rendering region and I cannot figure out how to get the entire image/selection to work.

As you can see in the code, I tried to use a "dreaded" global class, but this doesn't do anything for me, whether I use CodeLab or compile it in VSE. The other thought I had was that if I could work on an invisible canvas, I could do the first pass, turn it 90 degrees and run a second pass to get the final value (which is basically the workaround I have used to get what I needed).

Any help (or original sarcasm) will be greatly appreciated.

[EDIT]

Hidden Content:
This is the CodeLab code:

static class GlobalClass
{
   private static ColorBgra m_globalVar;
   public static ColorBgra AverageColor
   {
       get { return m_globalVar; }
       set { m_globalVar = value; }
   }
}

// Based on Rik Hemsley's code posted on the org.kde.kde-core-devel list.
ColorBgra average(ColorBgra fg, ColorBgra bg)
{
 const double d0 = (double)256;
 const double d1 = 0.2979;
 const double d2 = 0.5866;
 const double d3 = 0.1145;
 const double d4 = -0.1687;
 const double d5 = 0.3312;
 const double d6 = 0.5000;
 const double d7 = 0.4183;
 const double d8 = 0.0816;
 const double d9 = 1.4022;
 const double d10 = 0.3456;
 const double d11 = 0.7145;
 const double d12 = 1.7710;
 const double mix = 0.5;

double y, cb, cr, y0, cb0, cr0, y1, cb1, cr1;
 double r0, g0, b0, r1, g1, b1;

ColorBgra ret = fg;

r0 = (double)fg.R / d0;
 g0 = (double)fg.G / d0;
 b0 = (double)fg.B / d0;

r1 = (double)bg.R / d0;
 g1 = (double)bg.G / d0;
 b1 = (double)bg.B / d0;