How do I add depth to human figures?

Hello, newbie here

I can't find in here anyone discussing how to make a human figure look like it has REAL depth.

If you have ever seen any of Ken Burns documentaries he uses a lot of pictures in his films from the past,

but some of the figures or people in these stills appear in depth in such a way that they do not look flat.

Instead when the camera pans the picture they appear to be almost three dimensional inside the still.

You can almost see in his stills there is a curvature to the outline of the figure.

Their heads and bodies look as if they are inserted into the picture.

I have the removal of the background in the image down well enough but I don't know how to make the

figure appear as if it is 3 dimensional in the new background.

I wish I had a link to add here of his work as an example. 

Hopefully someone knows how to do this as my video project in Sony Vegas is on hold until I can figure

this one out.

Thanks in advance!

BODA

Edited by BODA

I'm trying to picture what you are saying, but without an actual example, it's rather difficult.

I think the trick to this is not to make the person himself (for sake of grammatical simplicity, I'm going to talk about our theoretical person as a male, ok?) 3-dimensional, but to simply separate him from the image and let the viewer's brains complete the optical illusion. The image of the person is merely 2D, but if, as the camera pans, he moves to reveal the background behind him, our brains think, "Oh look! It's 3D!" and "almost see" the curvature in the image.

This is much easier said than done, however. First off, you need to take the person out of the background, but it sounds like you have that figured out. The second step is to recreate the background behind the person, or at least the part that will be revealed as the camera turns (for this, I recommend this tutorial)