Question about saving files with paint.net...file type, bith depth, dithering, transparency

Hello,

I'm a new user to this program.  It seems great, Im excited to learn it.

I was about to save a file and I'm presented with 3 settings:  bit depth, dithering level, and transparency threshold.

I want to save files at the highest quality possible, I dont care about the file sizes.

So...............  should I save with the bit depth of 32 bit, or leave it at auto detect?

Also, it doesn't appear that I can change the dithering level and transparency threshold (set at 7, and 128).  Should I just leave them the way they are?

Finally, it wants to save as a .png file.  Should I leave it like that, or would there be any advantage (or disadvantage) if I save it as a .jpg file instead?

Thank you and sorry for the absolute newbie-ness of my questions.  Not only am I new to this program but also to terms related to images such as dithering and transparency so this is confusing to me.

Thanks very much for any help!!!

Thank you.  

When I try to save a (blank) file, autodetect is saving at 2.4kb, which is the same as 8 bit.  But 32 bit is saving at 8.2 kb.   But still, auto-detect is the one I should use for maximum quality?  Just making sure.

Also... thats very interesting about PNG vs. PDN.  In fact, I was hoping to use layers sometimes.  So, PDN is better for a picture with layers - it will save at higher quality?  And, later on, is it easy to convert to jpg or png without losing quality?

And I assume that I should not touch the dithering and transparency (set at 7 and 128), if I want highest possible quality?

Thank you!!

PDN is the native format of paint.net. It preserves all the layer structure and information. Use it to create images that you can open again and edit the individual layers.

A typical workflow has you save a master copy of an image as a PDN then resave it as a PNG or JPG.