Trying to take the word proof off a wedding picture - don't worry its nearly 60 years old!

Hi guys - I am new to paint.net so I probably sound really thick!

I have a picture of my parents on their wedding day nearly 60 years ago and would like to take the word proof off - I have tried using the magic wand, cutting it out which kind of works fine, but then I am struggling to fill in my mums wedding dress....I really wanted to get this done today for Christmas so any help would be really appreciated - I could attach the picture if I'm allowed to (sorry not really up on all the rules). thanks in advance, Sarah

Hello Sarah - welcome to the forum!

A picture would certainly help. If it is reasonably small (less than 800 pixels width) you can attach it directly to your post.
A better way is to upload it to a free image hosting site (eg. Imgur or Photobucket) and insert the link in your post.
There are some instructions here if you have problems.http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/12193-how-to-use-images-in-your-posts-signatures-and-avatars/

As for removing the word 'Proof' from the image - without seeing the image I would select with the magic wand as before but instead of deleting the selection try using the Brightness/Contrast Adjustment. If that doesn't work there is a plugin called 'Fill gaps' that can fill transparent areas reasonably well here:
http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?showtopic=13595

Good luck!

Red ochre Plugin pack.............. Diabolical Drawings ................Real Paintings

PdnForumSig2.jpg

Hello.

Method One.
For the simple answer, I would suggest you try the Clone Stamp tool  :CloneStampTool: .