FIxing colours on professional slides

Last year I bought 4 x boxes of slides from a car boot with the intention of scanning them all in and preserving them. The main reason, other than to add another feather in my cap, was that all of the slides were from before I was born (1970) and they obviously told many a tale of the previous owner's travelling throughout Europe 40+ years ago.

A lot of the slides are from personal photos and are easy to scan in using the slide-scanner I bought from 7DayShop. The problematic ones are those that were bought from the places the owner had visited - just as you'd buy a postcard, in the old days you'd buy commercial slides from the place to save taking a dodgy photo (I guess).

These scans are all appearing in an inverse with a heavy tint of red (or yellow, or green) and, as I'm new to this, I'm not quite sure which options in Paint.NET (or which plugin to use) to get them back to normal. The detail is there, but the colours are not.

I've shrunk one of the scans to 10% of the original size which is appearing in the full-on-red, then added a second copy of it using the Auto Level option under Adjustments.

Any help would be appreciated as I'm only as far as a third of the way through the first box (aka 'Austria', 1967 and 1970) and there's a lot more commercial ones to scan and fix :-)

post-68058-0-88113500-1457102590_thumb.j

post-68058-0-62548200-1457102628_thumb.j

Hi Muguk and Welcome to the forum.

I had a play with your pinkish photo and came up with this:

th_exmpl_zpsniufjmth.png

I first played with the Hue and Saturation in the Adjustments drop down and then went on to use this process:

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/25221-how-to-make-the-colors-more-intense/

Hope this was of help :D

30b8T8B.gif

How I made Jennifer & Halle in Paint.net

My Gallery | My Deviant Art

"Rescuing one animal may not change the world, but for that animal their world is changed forever!" anon.