How to change the color of gradient + transparent + overwrite blend, it is always white?

I am a newbie so bare with my dumb questions.

I want to make a simple gradient overlay that covers part of the original picture (so that I can put text on it).

I created another layer, and tried to put gradient on that layer. After several experiments, I found that transparent overwrite mode is what I needed.

However, in transparent overwrite mode, the color is always from white to "no color". I tried to change the primary color and secondary color and it doesn't work.

I then tried to click here and there, by switching the transparent/color mode, and switching the blend mode, and suddenly it worked as from secondary color to "no color", but I don't know what I did to make it work.

I tried to repeat the above step again, it changed back to "from white to no color".

I tried to search but seems nobody had the same problem. Please help. Thanks.

The following is the primary & secondary color.

Capture.PNG.7d3da0390c23e8bbad72c31ae5d14e59.PNG

The following is the "from white to no color" gradient, it should be from "primary color to secondary color" gradient.

Capture1.thumb.jpg.3da96cce50c79965c5acd47b6b3ac909.jpg

Edited by ryanhh

4 hours ago, ryanhh said:

After several experiments, I found that transparent overwrite mode is what I needed.

If you want to go from the primary to the secondary color, Transparent mode isn't what you need. Transparent mode, as the name suggests, changes the transparency, not the color. The reason you get white is that the "color" of the transparent pixels in your transparent layer is white -- that is, the pixels would be white, but since they're transparent, you can see them. When you do the transparent gradient in Overwrite mode, you force them to be non-transparent, so you can then see their white color.