How Do I Create A Lighting Shadow?

I have searched the forums for help with this, but since I am a newbie, I have a feeling I am not searching with right terminology.

So here goes and perhaps someone can direct me to a plugin or a tutorial to answer my question.

I have attached an image that I would like to modify to add a shadow of her in the image, based on lighting directed at her.

How do I do this?

Thanks for the help! :)

post-89492-13329796779019_thumb.jpg

In order to do this the easiest way you'll need to have the subject (the figurine) separated from the background (i.e. on different layers).

This plugin: Shadow Effect creates a directional shadow from an object on a layer.

So what's an object? An object is a group of pixels on an otherwise transparent layer. Easy. So if your figurine is on her own layer & the background is on a different layer you're already there boltbait.smile.png .

If you have a single layered image boltbait.sad.png , you'll need to separate the figurine from the background first. Here's a tutorial that might help: http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/13796-cutting-out-images/

To use the plugin mentioned, here's what I do:

1. Duplicate the layer containing the object (hint: :DuplicateLayer: )

2. Select the lower of the two identical layers.

3. Run the plugin. Adjusting the sliders to position the shadow so it is optically pleasing.

Thanks for the help!

I cut out the object from the background and used the plugin.

I also used another plugin to provide additional shadow and highlight.

I have attached my finished product with a shadow.

I don't think I did too bad... so congrats to the teacher! :)

post-89492-13330612028489_thumb.jpg

In order to do this the easiest way you'll need to have the subject (the figurine) separated from the background (i.e. on different layers).

This plugin: Shadow Effect creates a directional shadow from an object on a layer.