how do you create glass pieces like this pic?

I am new to this but have been searching all over for help with no luck. I found similar, but im basically looking to recreate this image. Only with a football coming out of the screen of a laptop. So basically swapping out the soccer ball for a football. Please any help would be greatly appreciated; and or direct me to a site or tutorial with it explained. Thank you. i do not own this image. 1275067326R6h89O.jpg

Short on time to explain with picture examples ... Though I like the concept and have this idea bookmarked for later musings.

This sort of image requires quite a bit of manual manipulation to do with just PDN. There is a fair chance that this example wasn't done with a 3D application from its look, but too hard to tell.

A good example tutorial to get you started is one on creating shattered glass. I searched on shattered glass using the PDN search engine and its the first hit. Shattered Glass Tutorial

Essentially what you have to do is layer on the shattered glass over the top of the football on top of the laptop. The glass more or less can be hand drawn cutouts from the base image screen to help control scale. Then using edge detect and similar plugins you can get the glass edges to blend in etc.

Hope that helps to start.

Gallery at PDN-Fans

That is a pretty cool concept. I've been stagnant about coming up with something new to try out and I think I may (time permitting) give this a whirl this weekend.

The glass more or less can be hand drawn cutouts from the base image screen to help control scale.