Fastest way to create multiple transformed copies of [part of] image

I am relatively new to Paint.NET and couldn't find my answer after a few hours of search and reading. What I want to do is to create 180 copies of a 16x16 arrow icon (png image) on a 2880x16 canvas, with each copy obtained by rotating the original image 2 degrees more than the previous copy. So, the first copy should start at [16,0] with 2 degrees rotation of original, the second copy at [32,0] with 4 degrees rotation of original, and so on.

It is not dissimilar to what Fragment effect does except that Fragment always places the copies at the same distance in a circle, the rotation applies to the placement of copies and, of course, blurs the result. Is there any way to achieve this quickly, e.g. by using a combination of tools or by scripting?

I appreciate any help.

The tiling can be done. I don't recall any tools that would automate the rotations.

The tiling can be done. I don't recall any tools that would automate the rotations.

you could try: layers > rotate/zoom

This really wouldnt be quick, but it is an option.

Thanks for the replies. I tried layers > rotate/zoom. It does accelerate the process by shifting and rotating in one command provided I set the right X and Y pan values. However, there is a slight loss of quality even without rotation which seems to be due to change of alpha in some pixels. As a long shot I set the blend mode to overwrite, but it didn't help either. Is there a way to create multiple exact copies of an image by tiling?

It may be that your best available option is to put your

original 16x16 image in a new layer of a 16x16 canvas.

Duplicate the layer and use Layers > Rotate / Zoom (without tiling).

Set Layers > Rotate / Zoom to rotate 2 degrees.

Repeat duplicating the top layer and rotating until you have as many layers as you want. (180)

------------------------------------------------

Expand the canvas to 2880x16 anchored Left.