I need help with book covers

I am a total newbie when it comes to working with imaging. I made some book covers using Paint.net but, for the life of me, I can remember how I did it.

I've tried too work through the tutorials but can't get the sound to work so I have no idea what's going on.

Where can I go to get a step-by-step explanation of how to use the program.

Here's one of the covers I made:

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51efvzYu89L._SY346_.jpg

Greetings.

Your project seems simple enough.
A background layer with text on a transparent layer on top. 

Using Layers In Paint.NET
(information on applying text upon a transparent layer begins ~ 14 minutes into the tutorial)

Edited by HyReZ
added additional information
  • Like 1

The other things you is needing is remember which font you used. If you have many that may mean going down list. If you have big list you still finding it. Then you picking color. If you no remember then pull up old version of picture and use color picker tool. That get the color.

After that you create new layer. It plus sign. Put text there. Then just pick size and where you wantings text on picture. Maybe move it around until it where you wantings it.

Sometimes you wanting more than one text layer. It saying one thing in one place one layer. It saying something else or different on other layers. That way you can edit one part at time, move it around, changing it until you is happy with it.

Now if text is what you likings then it good. If you needings to do fancy things to text merge text layers into one one layer- not merge with picture layers yet. This way you edit text all at once. Then if you wanting things like bevel, shadow, inner shadow or whatever you wantings they all happen at once. There almost a millyin things you can do to text and make it look betters!