Why file size increases after Save

Paint Newbie here. Great product, and I'm glad I stumbled across it.

I used Paint to edit a .tif image that was originally about 300 KB in size. All I did was erase a few objects. When I saved the file, the file size jumped from 300 KB up to 2048 KB!!! Can someone tell my why? And is there a setting to keep it from doing that?

Thanks

I didn't add anything to the image. All I did was use the eraser and erased a few pixels. Then I just clicked on "File", and then "Save". The image was saved as a TIF, just like the original, but increased in size as I described in my first post.

I also tried this: I opened a TIF image, did NOTHING to it, and saved it. The same thing happened...the file size increased from 300 KB to 2048 KB.

I'm confused.

Saving as a PNG also would work for me. Yes it is a little smaller than saving as a TIF but the PNG format is still 5 times larger than the original as opposed to 6 times larger when saved as a TIF. I'm still looking for the cause. The resolution doesn't appear to be changing.

I just tried the same thing with Microsoft Paint and when I saved the file as the same format (TIF), it went from 314 KB to 478 KB. Now I can live with that small increase.

With a file size that small (I assume that "KB" isn't a typo, and it's not actually "MB"), the size difference could probably be explained with the addition of metadata.

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?
The Doctor: You know fairy tales. A good wizard tricked it.
River Song: I hate good wizards in fairy tales; they always turn out to be him.