Newbie: Convert color logo to white logo with a solid background

I am a newbie that just downloaded Paint.net a week ago. I am trying to convert a color logo from it's original design to a white log over a solid background, like the image attached. I need the solid background separate from the logo so I can change the color. I have tried several suggestions from other posts to no avail. My little brain can't figure this out.

Can you help?

post-134569-0-03456900-1386810134_thumb.

Hi and welcome!

Without seeing the exact image, it's a bit of a guess. What happens if you try Adjustments > Black and White? Or Adjustments > Invert Colors?

Hi Ego Eram Reputo

The attached image is the actual image. I need to convert the asp.net logo to white with a solid background. I tried Adjustments>Black and White and also Adjustments>Invert Colors but did not get the results I wanted.

For a better logo with a transparent background you can visit http : / / thedigitaldesign.com/Content/images/dotNet-logo.png

With all due respect - that's Microsoft's logo.  It even has the TM and R to denote trademarks.  Do you have permission to use and change this logo?

(read this: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/legal/IntellectualProperty/Trademarks/Usage/Net.aspx )

If you can honestly answer yes to the last question, here's how you can alter it.

1. Open the transparent version.

2. New Layer :AddNewLayer:

3. Fill :PaintBucket: the new layer with black (left click in the layer).

4. Move layer down below the original logo layer with the down arrow :arrow-down:

4.5 Activate the logo layer by clicking on it in the Layers Window.

5. Adjustments > Black and White :BlackAndWhite: (or Ctrl + Shift + G)

6. Adjustments > Invert Colors :InvertColorsEffect:  (or Ctrl + Shift + I)

7. Adjustments > Brightness and Contrast  :BrightnessContrast: (or Ctrl + Shift + T).  Set both sliders to 38 or whatever you like.