Text on Second Layer?

I'm a total newbee in terms of graphics programs (but very familiar with Excel/Word and other programs.)

Exectutive Summary:
The text tool is not showing my text when used on a new layer.

I understand the layer itself is transparent, but thought I could put text on it (allowing me to delete the layer and rebuild that text if I decided the placement didn't work as expected.)

I can put text on the canvas itself and that works as expected.

All input welcomed. I'm guessing I'm missing something simple.

DETAILS for those who care:
I'm building an e-book cover.

I sized the canvas to the size of my cover.

After creating a new layer, I assumed I could put my text in that layer (My book title, author, etc.), and then on another layer put my graphics/photos and later merge them all together once the placement/sizing was right.

Once I add a new layer, the text tool appears to be writting, but it's writing in a transpent font from what I can tell. if I go back to the original canvas, the text tool is working and I can change the color/font size/style, etc as expected.

In other words, I know how to use the text tool on the canvas layer, but once adding another layer, then I'm doing something wrong but I'm ignorant.

All suggestions or pointers to documentation welcomed. I couldn't figure it out from the help files.

Thanks in advance.

The most common reasons you can't see newly typed text is:

-There is an active selection and you're trying to type text outside of that selection. Try pressing Ctrl-D before selecting the text tool.

-The text layer is obscured by a layer on top of it. Try moving the text layer to the top of the layer window list.

-The new text is the same color as the background. Try selecting the desired text color before (or while) using the text tool.

-You're typing text on a different layer than you thought. Be sure your desired text layer is selected in the layers window before using the text tool.