How to move and resize multiple images on a background?

Hi, I'm new to using Paint.net. I am wondering how to select images to move or resize when I have several images open on a background to create a collage. It seems to only select the background and will not select any image I click onto. I know there is the selection tool but if images are overlapped and I need to reposition them, the selection tool is not really helpful. Do I have to use layers?

Edited by Ferg72
extra information

Hello @Ferg72 and Welcome to the forum :)

Yes, you would have to use the selection tool, then cut and paste into a new layer.

Here is a tutorial that might be of help:

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=make+a+collage+in+Paint.net&docid=607996270752041718&mid=2C143F3961E974DFFCE62C143F3961E974DFFCE6&view=detail&FORM=VIRE

30b8T8B.gif

How I made Jennifer & Halle in Paint.net

My Gallery | My Deviant Art

"Rescuing one animal may not change the world, but for that animal their world is changed forever!" anon.

5 hours ago, Ferg72 said:

Do I have to use layers?

Your solution is right there, layers are one of the biggest reasons many use to use paint.net :D

12 minutes ago, MJW said:

I'm not sure what you mean when you say "I have several images open on a background."

Im pretty sure that meant he had different images on the same canvas and layer like this:
KxUEDhD.png
Images above are just from google that i put together, but you get the point

1 hour ago, LoudSilence said:

Im pretty sure that meant he had different images on the same canvas and layer like this:

That's sort of what I would have thought, but it doesn't seem to fit with the following sentence.

7 hours ago, Ferg72 said:

It seems to only select the background and will not select any image I click onto