How To Make a Background White

Hi, I am new to any kind of graphics program. I selected Paint.net because I had read it was much easier to use than other graphics programs. I have searched and read many postings regarding what I am asking but nothing has guided me. This is what I want to do and seems as simple a graphics  task as one can imagine. I have created an image of a solid black cat on a white background and I scanned it and opened it with Paint.net. All I want to do is remove the very faint pencil erasure marks and other imperfections that appear on the white background. I want to leave the black cat just as it is. I have tried the following:

1. Selected magic wand and the background. (Perfect! It selects the whole area I want to change)

2. Applied the eraser and it leaves a checkerboard, which I understand is the underlying blank layer. (Fine, now I want to fill in that checkerboard area with the color white so the imperfections are gone)

3. I can not find the correct tool to color the erased section white, just plain white.

I am obviously not understanding the many complexities with this program. But, that's okay. I only want to to this one task, at least for now and as I mentioned, I can not find how to do this simple task. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hey @JonH & welcome to the forum :)

I'm about to introduce you to something that is probably a new concept. Layers. Don't worry, its easy!

Your image is currently a single layer. The erased bits show up as a checkerboard - denoting transparent areas. With me so far? 

Look in the bottom of the Layers Window for this icon :LayersAddNewLayer: and click it once. That adds a new layer. See it appears in the Layers window above your existing layer?

Drag that layer below the image layer. Just click on it in the Layers Window & drag it downwards. You'll be fine!!