white,grey and black point plugin

Newbie here so please be kind, I plan to use Paint.net for my Nikon Nef files and wondered if there are any plans to develope a plugin for white,grey and blackpoint ref. If not, any one that is compatible? Thanks, Lee from Milwaukee

Leroy Allen Skalstad

http://www.pictureflow.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7780 Thanks for the reply Boltbait. Often, In my work, Especially with existing light portraiture I will insert a white, gray and black reference card in the bottom of the image and use the above plugin in PS for exposure and color balance. As I mentioned, a newbie who is intrigued by the 64 bit architecture in Paint.net and wondered if this was also possible.

Leroy Allen Skalstad

could you not just use brightness/contrast adjustment until the black and white swatches appear correct, or is there more going on in the plugin than that?

Thanks User24, will try, I did calibrate my monitor with Huey from Pantone so I should be close to seeing what the Fuji Frontier outputs, Still on a learning curve so thanks for your patience, Lee

Leroy Allen Skalstad

I tried it with your sample image (in the post linked above) and I must say, it turned out pretty nice.

I just adjusted the Brightness / Contrast up pretty high (82/61) until the general look was achieved. Then I adjusted the color balance by sliding the Yellow/Blue slider to the blue side by +10 (0/0/10).

• 3 weeks later...

Hi

Another newbie here. This 'white balance' tool is something that I too missed when I discovered Paint.NET the other day. I've been playing with the CodeLab plugin in an attempt to make a suitable plugin, and I think I have the code for the effect worked out. However, I can't find a way to get at the current cursor/mouse coordinates, so my testing is a bit long-winded (note cursor coordinates, edit the plugin text).