Merging multiple images (as separate color channels) into one RGB image

Hi all.  First off, thanks for all the work on what is clearly an excellent resource - I am new to Paint.NET and extremely impressed!  I'm hoping you can help me with a color channel question -- I've dutifully searched the forums for over an hour and can't find what I'm looking for, so I'm sorry if I'm posting an already-solved problem.

Part of my job involves using a fluorescent microscope and camera to capture images of cells in multiple fluorescent channels.  What I've done in the past is to take those RGB pictures to Photoshop, create a new RGB image, and copy/paste the red channel from one picture, the blue from another, and the green from yet a different file into the respective channels of the new image.

The result is an image that combines the red, green, and blue fluorescence into a lovely merged image of those cells -- so the nucleus is one color, the cytoplasm is another, etc.  It takes me about 2 minutes in Photoshop.  (I apologize for the tedious explanation, but I want to be absolutely clear that I'm not looking to recolor a single image, nor do I want to simply blend existing images)

Is there any plugin that would enable me to do this as quickly and easily in Paint.NET?  Has anyone created a channels palette?  I'd like to convert the entire lab to Paint.NET but this RGB work is our bread-and-butter...it would have to be easy for the non-techies.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Hello. :)

I haven't tried this plugin yet, but since it's called "channels", maybe it will be useful to you.

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/9308-channels-v20-formerly-invertcolours/

Also, you might want to check out several color plugins, many of which can be found in the plugin index under C for colors.

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/15260-plugin-index/