DPI & Bezels

Hi all. I am a commercial pilot that also runs a small flight simulation business. In addtion to hardware design and fabrication I also dabble in virtual panel design (for instrumentation) I have succesfully done this in the past just using MS Paint as my needs are really basic but Im ready to spread my wings into something more advanced and greatly appreciate the free availability of Paint.net.

Below is a brief checklist of what I need to accomplish as this is my standard modus operandi for all of my panel design work.

#1 -- In the past my routine has been to build a 24-bit bitmap backdrop that is typically sized to a pre-set monitor resolution such as 1680 x 1050 for example. This can then be used on any various 16:10 ratio LCDs from say 19" up to 24" . A key drawback to this however is that I have never gotten to a point of actually being able to design panels and the gauge bezels from the outset on a true 1:1 scale.

I'd now like to start with the real exact size and then "back-export" to 16:10 so that if it gets used on a 24" then it is in full 1:1 scale but if a customer has 20" LCDs then it is still properly scaled but obviously the gauges will be a little smaller than real world. (which is fine.. as I just want to offer true 1:1 scale for anyone using using a 24" LCD)

FYI simulation gauges themselves are separate C++ or XML code with 1 to 100 of their own imbedded bitmaps and then the cohesive set of bitmaps and code act as a single gauge which then gets placed onto the main panel 'backdrop" image with another program. This part I am very experienced in.