Cirlces within Circles

Hi all, i need to draw out a schematic for a paper im writing. The form of the diagram is like an onion with many (8) layers, each of which needs a brief annotation.

I am completely new to PAINT.net and would really appreciate a walk-through 'for dummies' on how to draw circles within circles...hopefully somebody knows about this out there.

Thanks.

open a new image

go to the layers window and add a new layer

select the elipse tool from the tool window

hold shift then use your mouse to draw a circle- holding shift will draw a perfect circle, without holding shift you would have a hard time drawing this... at the bottom of the PDN window is a bar where you can read how big your circle is in pixels- make this first circle to the largest size you will need-- for my example say-- 400 pixels

go to the effects tab and use align object to center the circle

add a new layer

using the same proccess make a smaller circle-- say 375 pixels

use align object again

keep repeating with smaller and smaller circles untill you get them all done

spacesig.png

SARCASM- Just one of the many services I offer free to the public.

Thanks for the input! A couple of things still causing issues:

1. I can't find Effects > Align Object. I did find an Align Objects plug-in and d/loaded it but it didn't seem to make any difference.

2. I guess I need to find Align Object to stop the first layer disappearing when I try to draw a smaller circle inside it, right?

So, could someone tell me where the Align Object function in pls?

Thanks.

there is align object and there is object align, i know the one is a plugin, but i didnt think the other was.. if it has been installed correctly it will show up in the effects drop menu

th_drop.png

either one will do the job

Edited by mountnman

spacesig.png

Thanks for the input! A couple of things still causing issues: