Re-using .png files

Hi, I am new to paint.net and I have very limited knowledge of using this programme and the different methods. However I managed to delete a background and save it as a .png file, by using the tutorials, then I used it in a picture, however, the next time I wanted to use the same .png it didn't work as a transparent, can someone explain why please?

first.. i just tried it and it worked fine, bringing up a transparent image-- which mean you see the checkerboard background....are you sure you deleted the background image? or did you just set the background layers vissiblity to off? hitting the red X while the background layer is highlighted will delete it, unchecking the little box just renders it unseen, but its still there

now i must ask, what purpose is there to saving such a thing? if i want to start with a transparent image, i simply add a layer and delete the background, why bother with loading a transparent .png?

Edited by mountnman

spacesig.png

SARCASM- Just one of the many services I offer free to the public.

first.. i just tried it and it worked fine, bringing up a transparent image-- which mean you see the checkerboard background....are you sure you deleted the background image? or did you just set the background layers vissiblity to off? hitting the red X while the background layer is highlighted will delete it, unchecking the little box just renders it unseen, but its still there

now i must ask, what purpose is there to saving such a thing? if i want to start with a transparent image, i simply add a layer and delete the background, why bother with loading a transparent .png?