Text Tool

Barbara Mc

I have been using PDN for probably about four years now and love it. I have PSP, but rarely use it. I updated to the v3.5.5 and it installed and it worked perfectly until I tried to use the text tool. Then I started getting the same error message. I have tried everything I've read in the forums and nothing works. I have un-installed the newest version and reinstalled several of the older versions, and the older versions work until you go to the text tool then I get the error. I downloaded the Microsoft Utility Cleanup program and ran that to make sure everything with PDN was gone before re-installing it, and again works great until I use the text tool. I went back to a restore point prior to the update and it still mucks up when you use the text tool. I emailed several of the PDN Crashlog reports. This is occurring on my laptop which is a Toshiba running Vista Home Premium SP2, 3.00 GB of memory. Now on my desktop, I installed the v3.5.5. My desktop is a HP, Vista Home Premium SP2, with 1.00 GB of memory. Everything works perfect on my desktop. I am lost and don't know what else to try.

Per your request, I un-installed the PDN v3.5.3....checked with the Windows Install Cleanup Utility and it was not showing. I disabled my firewall and went to the PDN and downloaded v3.5.5 from there. It installed again perfectly. Worked just as it should until I used the text tool and then I got the below attached error. Sorry if I'm not attaching the crash log correctly, It won't let me attach from the note pad. Thank you so much for any help you can give me. I am so addicted to PDN.

post-75440-127413925299_thumb.png

pdn_Crash_log_v_3_5_5_may_17_2010.rtf

The error code in the log is 0x88985003. After some digging, that is the DirectWrite error code for File Not Found.

I suspect you have a font that is incorrectly installed or has been deleted improperly (I'm not sure how/why). It's probably whichever font you're trying to use with the text tool.