Plugins Install Fail, Windows 10 Store

Hello,

After several hours of searching, I had to give up and ask here.

I have used Paint.Net for several years, but had to leave my Windows 7 computer behind and start using Windows 10 on August 4, 2020 (I think the date is relevant). Although I have donated to Paint.Net in the past, I didn't mind the small purchase price. It installed just fine.

When I went to install some of the plugins I had been using, Win was willing to let me use the installer, but I was informed that Paint.Net is NOT installed. Not hardly! This has to do with buried system files and such. I obtained permissions (insulting, it's my computer after all) and tried again. Not happening.

Trying a .dll install in the file that I opened, I was denied permission. Since I am new to Win10, there's no way I was going to try to change ownership from System to my name. That could cause serious problems later.

Other discussions on .dll problems seem to be outdated because, if I am understanding it correctly, very recent changes in both MS and Paint.Net structures.

Am I stuck going without plugins, at least until there are further developments?

If you installed Paint.NET from the Microsoft Store, the instructions for adding plugins is slightly different:

https://www.getpaint.net/doc/latest/InstallPlugins.html#4

• Upvote 1

(September 25th, 2023)  Sorry about any broken images in my posts. I am aware of the issue.

bp-sig.png
My Gallery  |  My Plugin Pack

Layman's Guide to CodeLab

Try installing my plugin pack, link in sig.

It will tell you that it can't find Paint.NET--ignore that.

Then, on the main screen there is a checkbox that allows you to select the Store version of Paint.NET, check that.  Then install everything.

See if that works and report back.

• Upvote 1

Howdy BoltBait,

I didn't see your link in a sig, but found your pack. To quote Adrian Monk, "Here's what happened".