How to soften layers edges

Hello to everyone in the community !

I am new to PainT.net I have downloaded here some plugins , but I haven't found yet a tool that will allow me to soften the edges of the layers I am creating .

I am sure this question has been asked a numerous number of time but I didn't found any relevant thread .

I just want to apply a smooth or soften effect with my mouse like I would do with a gentle paintbrush not on the entire layer but just on the edges when needed ...

If any of you could sort me out , that would be really kind of you !!

First of all , thank you for your quick answers , I should have added an example as English is not my mother language .

berua5.jpg

Here what I am trying to do , just note that I just made it as an example , and really quickly , so let's all pretend I have well cut my layer here Albert Hoffman (RIP ) .

I just pasted it on a field background for the purpose of the test , I am not caring here about the realistic aspect of the scene , the difference of lighting source origins ...

Even if cut my layer with great precision using a great zoom ,the edges of my layer will always seem too sharp .

In the solutions you gave me the Soften Edges was the closest solution to what I expected .

(In fact I had already downloaded this plugin but as I had downloaded as much plugins as I could , it was pretty hard to know where to find the good ones )

I am pretty sure it can meet most of thee needs , but I would prefer not a global effect on the layer but much more a tool like paint brush ...

The sort of thing you have in Gimp for the blur/sharp tool ...

blurrk4.jpg

If you know or have tips or how to achieve this task only on certain parts of the layer , that would be great !

And by the way thank you all again !

Ok I will try your googlepage , feather plugin ----> viewtopic.php?t=2498

It seems closed to what i wanted , will try it and will get you updated !!!