Complete novice to image editing...need to know what this effect is?

Hi all,

I am a novice to image editing, I just want to say that up front. I have been able to figure out a few things on my own, and others through tutorials. I have been searching for a tutorial for what I need to do, but the problem is that I am not sure what this effect is called, so I have not had any luck so far. Can someone please take a look at the example image below and tell me what that sort of effect would be called? I tried looking at frames, but the examples I found didnt seem to match up to this. The surrounding area on what I would want to do would be a non-white color, but I am sure that is the easiest part of the image manipulation.

If you have a pointer to the proper tutorial as well that would be appreciated, but I can at least search more intelligently if I know what I am looking for :)

Thanks a ton!

mxdt.png

Hmm?Im not sure what you are asking but it looks like you just cut out the picture you want and blur the edges.Like Welshblue said try TR's Extreme Edge Fader.

If you don't have anything new to add, please hold off on commenting until you're sure the person who asked the question understands the answer.  You don't want to confuse anyone.  :-)  Thanks.

• Upvote 1

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?
The Doctor: You know fairy tales. A good wizard tricked it.
River Song: I hate good wizards in fairy tales; they always turn out to be him.

If you don't have anything new to add, please hold off on commenting until you're sure the person who asked the question understands the answer.  You don't want to confuse anyone.  :-)  Thanks.