Removing greyscale, and converting to 'black or white'

I'm pretty new to working with layers and would appreciate some of the wisdom evident in this forum.

I have a hand-drawn black and white logo of two letters in outline and intertwined, which I created separately, digitised, printed, then painstakingly cut out to do the intertwining (as I have no clue how I'd do this in the box).

I added some forward diagonal fill to one letter before printing to distinguish between the two when intertwined but then realised that where I added (pre-digitising) some drop shadow the two blacks are not the same so want to adjust to pure black for 'black or white' printing. I've tried playing around with some of the tools suggested elsewhere, but ineffectively.

In addition, (probably because it's an inkjet printer) the fill has blurred into some kind of greyscale during the re-digitisation. Trying to remove that with the magic wand and playing with tolerance is proving difficult. I'll need to add it directly afterwards.

I would attach an image of what I'm trying to achieve, but can't work out how to get my  already compressed 1MB file down to 256kb.

Maybe the two things I want to do can be done with one tool. In retrospect I could have done this differently.

Advice on how to fix this gratefully received in advance. Thanks.

22 minutes ago, Squirmish said:

Trying to remove that with the magic wand and playing with tolerance is proving difficult. I'll need to add it directly afterwards.

AA's Assistant is a really great plugin for softening hard edges (run after using Magic Wand or any Selection tools, good for blur too):

22 minutes ago, Squirmish said:

I would attach an image of what I'm trying to achieve, but can't work out how to get my  already compressed 1MB file down to 256kb.

Upload image to imgur.com or imgbox.com (10MB limit per image) and share here.

• Like 1

18 hours ago, Lemonade said: