Presetting 'Save As Type' field

Hi! I have been using your program for many years now and prefer it to any other paint program out there. I am at present going through my book library in Calibre Database, correcting any covers identified as the wrong size. I have over 7,000 books in the library so it's taking some time. One small irritation is, that after resizing the cover and moving to SAVE, it always defaults to png. where as I am using jpg.!

I don't know anything about programing but is it possible to make it so a default file type can be designated, thereby having jpg. as the Save As Type that always comes up first?

Thanks for a great program,

Regards, Paul G

Hi Paul & welcome to the forum 😊 I have to say Woodgnome
is a terrific username !

I also use Calibre, so your question intrigued me. I've not seen an error with covers being the wrong size. I always assumed they would be resized to fit.

The author of Calibre is quite open to requests. Have you considered filing a feature request with him?

On to your problem: it sounds like you are recreating the covers on a blank canvas. Are you pasting the original onto a new canvas? Doing this with a single layered image will default to PNG when you save, as you have found.

You would be better to open the original image file (the jpg). After editing, you simply Save. Unless you have added layers, the edited file will replace the original without further intervention.

• 2 weeks later...
On 12/8/2020 at 6:59 PM, Ego Eram Reputo said:

Hi Paul & welcome to the forum 😊 I have to say Woodgnome
is a terrific username !

I also use Calibre, so your question intrigued me. I've not seen an error with covers being the wrong size. I always assumed they would be resized to fit.

The author of Calibre is quite open to requests. Have you considered filing a feature request with him?