Jump to content


Photo

Fixing White Balance Problem


6 replies to this topic

#1 georgiatech

georgiatech
  • Newbies
  • 3 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 October 2008 - 02:54 AM

My pictures are too blue. I think that I had the white balance set incorrectly. Under Adjustments, when I select Auto-level, it really improves the look of the pictures, but there's still too much blue. These pictures stand out from my "good" pictures in filmstrip viewer mode because of the blue. How can I remove the blue?
  • 0

#2 Crimson

Crimson
  • Members
  • 1,648 posts
  • LocationI don't know. Where am I? WHO am I?
  • Reputation:3

Posted 06 October 2008 - 03:19 AM

Try the Color Mixer plugin, turning the Blue/Cyan knob down a bit.
  • 0

#3 Tanel

Tanel
  • Members
  • 215 posts
  • Reputation:6

Posted 06 October 2008 - 10:28 AM

There is White Balance plugin in Ed Harvey plugin pack: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=26244
Here is the most convenient way to use it:
1) Before opening the plugin: use color picker to spot a subject that *should be* near white or medium gray.
2) Open White Balance plugin and right click on the left color square. Color balance is corrected automatically.
  • 0

#4 georgiatech

georgiatech
  • Newbies
  • 3 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 October 2008 - 06:17 PM

Thank you very much. Turning down the blue/cyan colors gave the best results, but I'm happy knowing about the white balance plugin. I've gotten better results with Paint.net than with all my efforts with Photoshop. Although the modified picture has had it's colors corrected, when I view the picture in Thumbnail or Filmstrip mode, the small thumbnail still shows the deep blue of the original picture. How is it that after correctingthe color problem, the problem has not been corrected in the thumbnail?
  • 0

#5 BoltBait

BoltBait

    2013 Movie Guru Award Winner

  • Administrators
  • 9,571 posts
  • LocationCalifornia, USA
  • Reputation:291

Posted 06 October 2008 - 06:23 PM

When saving a file, Paint.NET does not update the thumbnail. You could try selecting the entire picture, copy-and-paste to a new image and save. That'll update the thumbnail.
  • 0
Click to play:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Download: BoltBait's Plugin Pack | CodeLab | More... and how about a Computer Dominos Game

#6 georgiatech

georgiatech
  • Newbies
  • 3 posts
  • Reputation:0

Posted 06 October 2008 - 07:05 PM

Fantastic. Your suggestion made me think that that was too much work to fix a minor problem, so I right-clicked my picture and selected "Refresh Thumbnail". That did the trick. Thanks for the suggestion, though, because I never would have tried anything on my own.
  • 0

#7 Tanel

Tanel
  • Members
  • 215 posts
  • Reputation:6

Posted 06 October 2008 - 08:42 PM

... I right-clicked my picture and selected "Refresh Thumbnail". That did the trick.

Damn!
thanks for the tip! :) I always hated the wrong thumbnails and wondered how to fix it. Now I feel stupid... :oops:
  • 0