Grids

Like I said, I'm new...I apologize. But I have no idea what I'm doing here, so maybe stop being anal and help me instead.

I barely even know what a plug in is let alone how to apply it. I'm an actual painter that works from aneasel with real paint and brushes. Not a graphic artist. I'm trying to learn and you scolding me isn't going to help!

Hello, deaque. I will explain things as clearly as possible; remember, I do not know how experienced you are with computers, so I will assume that you are new to them, as you imply. Please do not be offended if I am wrong.

A plugin is an installable bit of information that allows you to do a certain action on your command.

Paint.NET's plugins consist of a simple .dll file, which only needs to be placed in the correct folder to work.

Most plugins are contained in a zipped folder. It is similar to a normal folder, but needs to be 'Extracted'. Anyway, let's get started.

1. [*:cd785]First, click
this link, and download the file.
[*:cd785]Close Paint.NET, if you have it open.
[*:cd785]Now, unless you changed your individual setting, the file should be visible on your desktop. It will have a little zipper running up the front. Right-click it.
[*:cd785]One of the options in the menu should be 'Extract All...'. Click this.
[*:cd785]The Extraction Wizard will appear. Don't bother with any of the options, simply click 'Next', 'Next', and 'Finish'.
[*:cd785]Now a window should appear showing the contents of the extracted folder.
[*:cd785]Click Start on your task bar, and open 'My Computer' in a new window.
[*:cd785]If you followed the standard installation of Paint.NET:
  • [*:cd785]Click '(C:)'
    [*:cd785]Then 'Program Files'
    [*:cd785]Find and double-click 'Paint.NET'
    [*:cd785]And lastly, a folder that says 'Effects'.

[*:cd785]Drag and drop the contents of the extracted folder we dealt with earlier into the 'Effects' folder.