Photographic Mask Help

Des

Hi.

I am a keen photographer and often use a paper mask to isolate interesting areas in a photograph.

Is it possible to create such an idea in Paint.net?

I was thinking along the lines of creating an opaque overlay with a rectangular or square transparent window in the centre.

Ideally the the aperture should be of variable size.

Any suggestions.

Thanks

Des

Hello Des.

I was thinking along the lines of creating an opaque overlay with a rectangular or square transparent window in the centre.

Exactly that. Create a new layer, fill that with the colour of your choice, select the part you want removing and hit delete to remove that area.

As for adjustability, if you're using any of the selection tools you can use the Move Selection Tool (:MoveSelectionTool:) to adjust the bounding before you take action.

Of course, you are not limited to a solid colour, you may try out some blurring, colour adjustment or another effect to give focus to a certain area. If you are going to be using an effect remember to select the area you want preserving first, invert the selection - to highlight all but your desired section - and then apply the effect.

Does this help?

EDIT: the Move Selection Tool icon does not seem to be appearing here in the, but you can find it on the second row, second tool down on the Tools window.

Thanks for the reply Myrddin.

I had tried that idea. But the move selection tool moves the area I selected. What I want to achieve is to move the mask, and the transparent window around the picture.

thanks

Des

To do that, I'd say the easiest thing would be to select the entire "mask" layer and move it (just like you would move the entire "mask" sheet of actual paper). The transparent window will still be in the middle of the non-transparent pixels, and you'll get the effect that you want, I think.

drakaan sig jan 2020.png

I solved it!

Here is how I did it.