Can I create reusable transparent glass effect buttns/bannrs

NOTE: If this subject line still isn't suitable for the forum mods, then I give up...

Hi,

I'm a web developer that's new to graphics, so have no clue what to search for, and was wondering if there was a way to simplify my life and was hoping you guys could help.

I was poking around the net when I stumbled across The Sketch Pad : Wet Paint and liked the gradient glass effect they use for section headers and such. The ones that are light blue on top and then darker blue on bottom.

I know I won't word this correctly, but I hope I make myself clear...

Is there a way to produce a semi-transparent effect like that in an image so that I can put it in a HTML table cell then just change the table cell back color so that I can have one image that can be any color and look like it has a glass gradient effect?

If there's no way without creating an image for every color I may need, then I guess that's what I will have to do.

Thanks in advance,

CT

The reason why a subject line wouldn't be ok by the mods is if you are too general with it.

and with great reason. It's hard to keep track of all those posts with subject lines that say "Help me"... then you get like 5 of them with the same subject, and no one can remember which one it was that they posted to.

Plus no one is just going to pick your post because you are you, the deal is there are rules, it's a sticky, which says "read this, YOU, yes YOU." located http://paintdotnet.12.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?t=3446 with all of the rules of the board so that everyone is playing nice. :-)

Like you, I am a web programmer, and fairly new to graphics, however, I have gotten to a point where I can function with Paint.net (PDN).

The short answer to your glass effect gradient question is yes..... However.... the effect will not be as good as if you do each one by hand.

Your thinking like sort of a "lense" type thing.

And, it can be done, sort of.