Shattering Glass?

CorkStopper

Hey guys,

So, I'm still pretty new to graphic design, and at the moment the picture I'm working on is a silhouette of a raindrop falling with a grey background, and as it hits the ground, I am trying to make it look like the drop is shattering like glass. So far I have a the drop hitting the ground with cracks and all, but now I have no idea how I could make little fragments coming out of it, I have tried using the lasso select tool to shape the pieces, but it doesn't look too realistic. Anyone got any other suggestions?

I attached the picture to this post in case anyone wanted to get a better idea of what I'm looking for. Any constructive criticism welcome!

Thanks in advance!

post-140505-0-17427900-1424874816_thumb.

These brushes might interest you : http://www.brusheezy.com/brushes/48282-shattered-glass-brushes

But you will need photoshop file type plugins to use them in paint.net.

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/25792-photoshop-brush-filetype-2013-09-01/

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/25696-photoshop-pattern-filetype-2012-12-04/

http://forums.getpaint.net/index.php?/topic/18128-photoshop-psd-file-plugin-newest-version-241/

(don't know how to install plugins? See here. For file type plugins put them in the "file type" folder instead of the "effects" folder.)

Edited by Cc4FuzzyHuggles

Thanks for the replies.

I did see that tutorial on the glass, but that's not really what I'm trying to do.

I'll try these plugins when I have time

Thanks again

EDIT: Ok, tried to use the glass brushes, but I dont think I installed it right. I got the program from that last link (Do I need to get all 3 of them?) and I put that plugin in FileTypes folder. I then also tried it in effects.I put the glass brush plugin in effects. The brush came in a .abr file format. What did I do wrong?

Edited by CorkStopper