Using grey scale picture frames

PattiG

Is it possible to use .png grey scale photo edges (made for photoshop) in paint.net? I found some "frames" that will add various edges to the image (torn edge, lace, ect), but they are in grey scale and I'm not sure how, if I can, to use them in pdn. I've searched for a tutorial and found suggestions on alpha masks, but being a newbie I'm not sure what that is or how those work either. I'm just wanting to give a ragged or other style edge to my photos or backgrounds to use them for digital scrapbooking and framed photos. Thanks for any help or suggestions...so far I'm having a blast using this program!! :)

Use this as a start, ask questions if needed.

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/29/wippng01.png

===================================

To bring the frame file into your project, use this:

Layers > Import From File ...

The frame mask layer can be resized to match your project image by using

the Move Selected Pixels tool :MoveTool:, on a corner selection adjusting nub.

Edited by Sarkut

Assuming that you do have Photoshop frames in PNG format and also assuming that the size is suitable, the other alternative is to use Custom Mini Brushes.

You can simply load the already existing PNG frame into a new layer and change the color, hue, etc, accordingly. If they are not in PNG format but rather in their native ABR format, that too can be resolved by reading through the above link - all the info you require to set them up and begin to use them is there!

Cheers,

V.

naturesig.png