Unwanted shortcuts

Hi Guys :-)

I exist in a Windows XP Pro environment.

I am new to Paint.NET and am very impressed with it.

Now I don't have to buy Adobe Photoshop :-)

There is, however, one little irritation:

Each time I start Paint.NET, it places shortcuts on the desktop and in the Start Menu\Programs folder.

I do not want them.

I keep my very busy desktop just the way I want it.

I cannot find an option to stop this interference.

Can anybody advise me how to stop them being replaced and screwing with my very full desktop and Programs folder?

Thank you for your kind attention (-_-)

Hmm. I can't reproduce this behavior. If I delete the desktop icon it stays that way.

How are you launching Paint.NET since you've deleted the desktop and Programs links?

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

I know each time I install a new version of PDN, it puts a new shortcut icon on my Desktop. Perhaps that's what you were meaning to say?

I would prefer there to be a checkbox in the installation wizard labeled "Create Desktop Shortcut" that I can un-check, because, like the topic creator, I also like my Desktop just so. I have all my program launchers pinned to my Start menu, with none on my Desktop. So, each time I install a new version, I delete the shortcut on my Desktop.

Now, the way you have it, it may be easier for some users as they don't have to worry about where to go to start this program they just installed. It just appears there on the Desktop, and away they click. So I'm not sure if, for usability’s sake, this checkbox will ever be added, as it is just one more option that may or may not be necessary.

As it is, it's a very minor nuisance re-deleting the shortcut each time. If it helps the general user, I can more than handle it being there. :)

I am not a mechanism, I am part of the resistance;

I am an organism, an animal, a creature, I am a beast.