How to create the HYPERREAL Photo effects...HELP

Can anyone please tell me how to create the hyperreal sharpness effect...i found a article on how to do it with photoshop but i do not know how to do it with paint.net...i am new to this...and paint.net doesnt have the same effects as photoshop can somebody help me convert it

here is the article:

Hot Hyperreal Sharpness Effects - 6/2/08

You’ve seen this hip look everywhere. Now you can make it your own.

Print E-mail

By William Sawalich

This Article Features Photo Zoom

hyperreal

Fashionable trends make their way into all aspects of life—from clothing to television to music and art. The hot trend right now in photography seems to be a hyper-sharp look that’s everywhere in advertising and editorial. It’s tricky to describe, but it looks like a super-detailed, overly sharp image with extra detail in the shadows and what appears often as heightened grain. [To see examples, check out the work of Matthew Clark, Mitchell Funk and Gary Land in recent issues of PCPhoto and Digital Photo Pro.]

It’s a cool effect, and one that’s pretty digital-specific too. No matter how you shoot or process, this look comes straight from computer-based postproduction. Maybe that makes it one of the first major visual trends to stem directly from the digital revolution? Whatever the cause, the effect is simple: for now at least, it’s new, unique and fashionable. Why not stake a claim to your own version of this effect?

Some photographers utilize specialized software (Lucis Art and DxO Optics) that they further customize to create the enhanced-edge look, whereas others create their own complex combinations of adjustments and filters to create the look in versions from super-subtle to overly produced. Most photographers aren’t eager to reveal their practically patented secrets, so it’s up to adventurous photographers to find their own ways to make the look possible—with a little help from PCPhoto, that is.