Why can't I modify a saved photo?

Hi, I am very, very new and also a complete novice to paint.net.

I had some success yesterday whilst editing a photo using the clone stamp. However, when I went back today and reopened the photo for further modification, I found I couldn't do so. I uploaded a fresh photo, one I'd never worked on, and found I could edit that fine.

Is there something I'm not doing - or failed to do when I saved my first photo initially - that I should be doing?

Ta, in advance.

:?

If you save a single layer image in .PDN format it will preserve all the history. What you probably did was to save it in some other format, such as .PNG

Whoa...saving as a PDN file doesn't preserve the history...it preserves the layers you've created. It's usually good practice to save in this format, for two reasons:

a) It saves the layers you've created and all the settings created along with those

B) You don't overwrite your original file, which it looks like you did.

Hope that helps! :)

If you save a single layer image in .PDN format it will preserve all the history. What you probably did was to save it in some other format, such as .PNG

Whoa...saving as a PDN file doesn't preserve the history...it preserves the layers you've created. It's usually good practice to save in this format, for two reasons:

a) It saves the layers you've created and all the settings created along with those

B) You don't overwrite your original file, which it looks like you did.

Hope that helps! :)

Erk! Technospeak! Using the file menu, what I did was "Save as" and gave my photo a name like "Photo1 Sample" assuming I could just extract it from the file I saved it in to start work on again - but it's like it's 'locked' and won't allow me to work any more on it.

I was just practicing anyway (albiet that I was working on it for hours!) so no big deal if I have to start over but for future reference, how should I save something which I want to work on later?