Jump to content

Can "Save Configuration" popup be by-passed


Recommended Posts

Pressing Enter will accept the options and dismiss the Save Configuration dialog. I found it pretty easy to get used to typing the file name and pressing Enter twice when I know the settings are already what I need.

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4 months later...

I would also like to chime in to agree with the poster.  I've read other posts, and often they get pretty snotty.  I'm not going to do that.  I would like to point out, though, that this really shouldn't be that difficult to accomplish from a programming prospective (being one myself).  When I attempt to save a file, this configuration window comes up, and it has values in it already.  This indicates the values are already stored somewhere.  It should be trivial to add a checkbox that reads "Always use these values and don't show this again"... and in the settings dialog of PDN, have a related checkbox that I can uncheck in order to show the configuration dialog if I desire.  If the "Always use..." checkbox is checked, PDN can safely assume that I won't be changing the values, so just use the values that are stored already, and don't waste the user's tie with an unnecessary dialog.  Perhaps some people would use this config window every time.  Or frequently.  Or sometimes.  But there are those of us that never use it.  Considering the triviality of programming the ability to just use the defaults, I don't see this as being an problem (PDN devs seem to be adamantly against this).  Forcing me to have to press Enter twice for every file alienates some users.  Allowing those users the option to not have the dialog in the first place alienates nobody... it's the holy "everybody wins" outcome.

 

Re: "I found it pretty easy to get used to typing the file name and pressing Enter twice when I know the settings are already what I need."... yes, that is great, but as a developer myself, I have to be consciously aware that what makes sense to me, the developer, doesn't always make sense to the end user.

 

Anyway, that's my two cents.  Have a good day.

Link to post
Share on other sites

This has nothing to do with development difficulty. It is a design decision that I made a long time ago, and I have my reasons. You don't have to agree with me, but I'd appreciate you not leaping to the conclusion that I'm not considering the end user. I assure you it is the complete opposite of that.

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 months later...

I'm also joining to the request. I am often working with several dozen of images, where I only have to apply one small change and then check if everything works fine. Applying Ctrl+F for script lab and then Ctrl +Tab several times lasts seconds, but then I just want to save everything and I have to click Enter hundred of times, awaiting one second before new Saving Configuration window will appear. Simple procedure that would last minute, takes 10 minutes... I hope that you understand and will consider changing this :)

Edited by uhmeem
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 years later...
On 9/9/2015 at 7:30 AM, Rick Brewster said:

This has nothing to do with development difficulty. It is a design decision that I made a long time ago, and I have my reasons. You don't have to agree with me, but I'd appreciate you not leaping to the conclusion that I'm not considering the end user. I assure you it is the complete opposite of that.


First of all, Thanks a lot for this tool that I use a lot 🙂

I was just researching online to find a way to get rid of this save configuration screen... let me explain why:

I'm editing a 360 image of 23000 x 11500 - on a laptop with a 6 year old GTX560M .... (1st gen i7) ... I have hundreds of these files to edit.

Now every time I save an image, it goes to that screen... and even if i hit okay quickly, it goes to "cancelling ..." for what seems to be about 3 minutes.. before the screen goes out... that's 3 minutes that I lose every single time - so it does become an annoyance to the end user...

That tick box to use the default settings could really come in handy for my case.

Hope you can reconsider.

Best Regards,

Reuben

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd also appreciate the option to let PDN know that my default settings are the ones I want to always use. As others have stated, this isn't a suggestion to remove the dialog or even to make it non-default for first time installations, but for a regular/basic user to be able to tell PDN that they don't need to see those options every time they save a new file. I'd still support a notification if a save is going to merge layers, but more often than not I'm saving a one-layer image like a screenshot.

 

So many times I've confirmed on the Save As dialog and walked away from the computer, and then come back to it and realise it hasn't saved yet. This has caused confusion a couple of times when I don't see the file in my Dropbox on a different device. 

 

I consider this request to be one of increasing user-friendliness, without taking away from the functionally of the programme.

Link to post
Share on other sites

This has been asked many times, and answered many times. I won't be changing this, and asking again and again isn't going to change that.

 

And honestly even if there was an option for this, nobody would find it anyway.

 

What you're asking for is actually the opposite of user-friendliness. Hey, let's add an option and bury it somewhere in Settings ... that's not user-friendly 😂 Just get into the habit of pressing enter, I don't see what's so difficult about that ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

The Paint.NET Blog: https://blog.getpaint.net/

Donations are always appreciated! https://www.getpaint.net/donate.html

forumSig_bmwE60.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...