plug ins question, any generally helpful ones I should add first?

I saw tute's and developments for plug ins, but hope this is the place for this topic!

What I want to do first, is use the program to create paintings, mostly landscapes. I saw a tool to click for oil painting, I remember the approximate location visually but not the category of the drop down, sorry.

I was wondering if anyone thought there would be any certain plug ins I'd benefit most from, for this use.

Maybe custom brushes, for one?

I'm fairly new to digi, if this is too vague, please feel free to help me be more clear.

Thanks for any assistance, advice or ideas. :)

the "oil painting" conversion you are looking for is effects>artistic> oilpainting, but this converts an already created picture to look like it was done in oil, there are custom brushes in the plug-ins ..as well as smudge and other tools....

but to be honest, even as big a diehard fan of PDN as i am, if i was going to 'paint' with a program, i would use twistedbrush which does have a limited free version-- it applies the paints in oil style or pastels/watercolours etc

spacesig.png

SARCASM- Just one of the many services I offer free to the public.

the "oil painting" conversion you are looking for is effects>artistic> oilpainting, but this converts an already created picture to look like it was done in oil, there are custom brushes in the plug-ins ..as well as smudge and other tools....

but to be honest, even as big a diehard fan of PDN as i am, if i was going to 'paint' with a program, i would use twistedbrush which does have a limited free version-- it applies the paints in oil style or pastels/watercolours etc

ok, I get it, thanks for the info about oil paint effects :)