Gradient Tool and Layers

Complete Newbie here so don't shout if this has been asked loads of times before.

Basically, I have a picture of my Daughter and I want to fade half of her face out of the picture, i.e make half of her face black. I am new to PDN but I think i may need to use the Gradient and Linear tools and possibly a new layer?!

I have searched PDN for 'fade', 'blend' and any others I can think of but cannot find how to do this simple thing!

Thanks

Unhappyrainbow

Have you tried, on a new layer, to use black to transparent gradient? If not, here what you can do: select black as your primary color, and secondary color as transparent by clicking "More>" on the color palette, and slide the alpha slider all the way down to zero. Use linear gradient and fade out your daughter picture. Let me know if this works.

Officially retired from this forum. Have a nice day.

• 2 weeks later...

@ Lance, or whomever might read this: I have a beautiful pic of a peach colored rose. It's in the center of the pic, and I'd like to use some level of a gradient blurr or something so that the rose is the central focus, and the perimeter is either faded to nothing or white. I've tried the suggestion above, and can't seem to get it to work. Here are the exact steps I've tried so far with not as much success as I would like:

1) Open pic and name it

2) Chose Radial Gradient in Transparency mode

3) Choose Colors as Primary Transparent (255), and Secondary as white

4) Draw line from center to far outer edge

My problem, and it really isn't much of one, is that I'd like to completely fade all of the outer edges to white, as this pic will eventually be used in the bottom left hand corner of an all white business card, and I'd like to eliminate the "squared" edges of the pic that I now have. I've tried running the process a second time, and this seems to fade out to much of the center of the pic. Any thoughts would be helpful. Thanks in advance for your time! :D

Odean