Drop Shadow: Request for Assistance with Simple Text Effect

Hello.

I'd like to get some assistance with Paint.net, please.

The main thing I'd be using Paint.net for is drop shadow, but I don't see an easy way to create it. Nor do I see a plug-in for drop shadow. Of course, I could be wrong--and most likely am.

All I really want to do is create some text, and have a little bit of drop shadow on it.

Here are examples:

freeware.jpg

protect.jpg

Nothing fancy, just plain text with a little shadow.

I made these drop shadow effects using an old version of Paint Shop Pro. I'd like to use Paint.net to make something like this. I've read a couple of threads about drop shadow, but it seems to involve creating and working with layers. Not being a graphics editor expert, I'm afraid it was a bit over my head.

Since Paint Shop Pro and Photoshop Elements both have drop shadow utilities built in, I was surprised to discover Paint.net does not. Or does it? Am I completely missing a feature that will do this?

Would anyone please be willing to guide me in the direction of creating a simple drop shadow effect? I would be greatly appreciative, as I would really like to use Paint.net for just about all of my graphic editing needs.

Thank you very much!

Jd

There is a Drop Shadow-plugin.

Here's a way to produce the effect without a plugin, though:

1. Open up a new Layer. :AddNewLayer:

If you're having trouble finding it, look at the Layers window and search for the icon above. Simply put, a layers are like transparencies. You can stack multiple layers to compose an image of them.

2. Type your Text.

Select the text tool from the Toolbox. It's the icon that has the letter T on it. Be sure to click on the "Layer 1" in the Layers window first, to make sure you're writing on the new layer.

3. Duplicate your Text Layer. :DuplicateLayer:

This is very simple. Click the Duplicate Layer icon in your Layers window.

4. Open Hue/Saturation/Brightness. :HueSaturation: