UI to create layers, edit layers and export jpgs

Hi all

I'm new to using Paint.NET. It appears to be a great product and I look forward to using it from now on for my image editing needs.

I'm wondering how to create a UI to give end users the following functionality:

• * A button that when clicked will create 4 layers with transparency property of 128 above the background layer.
    * A button that merges the rectangle select tool with the paint bucket tool. That is, when the user draws a rectangle selection it should automatically fill it in with a hard coded colour (dependant on which layer is picked).
    * A button that will export jpg images. Each image is to have the background layer plus 1 of the higher layers.

I was going to use the Effects template available in the effects/programming forum, however I read that the effects API doesn't have access to image layer information.

• 3 weeks later...
Hello.

Point 1) Could you explain how it would be practical to have exactly four layers all with the same opacity? How would this benefit the majority of users? I'm not being funny, I do seriously want to know.

Point 2) The Rectangle fill tool (:RectangleTool:) will do this very action when used in the Draw Filled Shape mode (:ShapeInterior:). This can be said for all the filling tools found at the bottom of the Tools window. The different modes can be found (when the tool is in use) beneath the Print icon.

Point 3) You can already 'export' to .jpg by going to the File > Save As and clicking the drop down menu called 'Save as type', there you will see a range of file types you can use. Although .jpg doesn't support layers you can select what is saved by ticking or unticking the check boxes next to each layer. What ever is seen on the canvas at the time is what will be saved.