dodge and burn

Mark D

Hello,

I'm a newbie (my first post here), so please set me straight on this, but I searched on http://www.getpaint.net/search.html for "dodge burn", and the first two links that came up pointed me to a post entitled "Faking Soft Brushes and the Blur/Dodge/Burn Tool."  Maybe I'm not reading it correctly, but it seems that to use that technique you need to use three layers and the Clone Stamp tool.  But why not just use the technique described here

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/photo-editing/dodge-burn/,

where you create a 50% gray (hex 808080) layer, change the Blending mode to Overlay, lower the Transparency-Alpha of the Primary or Secondary color way down (depending on whether you are burning or dodging), and paint on the new layer?  Is the other technique better?

Thanks,

Mark

Nobody's saying you can't do it that way.  It actually does look easier.  I have a feeling that you'd want to test each way to see which one gives the best results.

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?
The Doctor: You know fairy tales. A good wizard tricked it.
River Song: I hate good wizards in fairy tales; they always turn out to be him.

Thanks David.  If there is anyone who has tried both methods and thinks one gives better results than the other, I would be interested in their opinion. 

What I should have written, by the way, is "create a 50% gray (hex 808080) layer, change the Blending mode to Overlay, restore the Primary color to black (since you probably changed it when you created the gray), lower the Transparency-Alpha of the Primary or Secondary color way down (depending on whether you are burning or dodging), and paint on the new layer."