First time on & observation re: Rules

Hello, just signed on.

I probably won't be too terribly active here, as I'm more of a programmer (VB.NET) than I am a graphics aficianado. I do find a bit of an artistic streak in myself, though, however novice it may be. And, as I'm an absolute beginner at Paint.NET, well... with your gracious assistance I may be able to overcome that.

First of all I'd like to extend a warm thank you and appreciation for all the hard work of our forum moderators. Folks, I have trouble keeping up with my own limited volume of a few emails a day—I have absolutely no idea how you manage to do this. I'm in awe :)

I must admit I'm a bit curious about Rule #11. Please correct me if I'm mistaken, but it would seem quite valuable to be able to post a reply to any thread, even one that's "expired," especially when the reply is a solution to the stated problem.

This way someone searching the forum at a later date can more easily find what he's looking for in a single thread, rather than wade through several trying to find a solution. Also, the original thread is more likely to more accurately describe the original problem.

May I ask the history behind Rule #11? What sort of thing was happening to inspire its creation?

You've got my curiousity piqued :)

Thanks,

Jeff Bowman

By and large, it's because Paint.NET is released in versions. A problem with Paint.NET 2.0, for example, is quite unlikely to apply to 3.5: they're just that different. If a new user comes to the forum looking for help with a 3.5 problem and finds a 2.0 thread they think applies, they could waste their time trying to figure out a problem that doesn't exist anymore.

Essentially, all threads older than the current version should be mistrusted, so we put a statute of limitations out there. :-) People are more than welcome to open new threads, that's not a problem. And, since most people do anyway, it's not one we typically have a whole lot of problems enforcing. :-)