I can enter type, then rotate - then I lose complete control

--TW

I'm a total newbie.

I typed in some copy over a colored shape (using a new layer) -- then I rotated the type. Just fine.

Then I go to do more adjusting, and it's impossible.

Can't isolate that layer. Can't add type or delete type, can't reposition the block of type -- nuthin.

Please advise.

Thanks.

You have to have the text on its own - otherwise transparent - layer for it to work like that.

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?
The Doctor: You know fairy tales. A good wizard tricked it.
River Song: I hate good wizards in fairy tales; they always turn out to be him.

Let me repeat the problem...

1) I add a new layer

2) I use the type tool to start typing words

3) All is well

4) I use the rotate tool to rotate the text

5) No problem

6) I go to add more words or change the type to italics or work with the type in some other way.

7) Cannot be done! Affecting the type is impossible. Cannot be adjusted, moved, etc. That layer is impossible to affect.

8) And no, I have not merged that layer with the one below it, etc.

9) Must delete that layer + begin all over again.

Please advise.

Thanks.

-- TW

wow -- that would seem to be a basic concept.

so, as soon as I type something, it freezes. When? As soon as I do something else (like rotate it)? -- Or is it a timed thing?

At what point does the type freeze? What triggers the freeze?

Thanks.

-- TW