Fade to white, oval & rectangle

GeorgeB

For the record: I've searched the forums, used searchpaint.net, and searched using Google restricting to "site:paint.net" and "site:forumer.com" with a paint modifer. I keep coming close, but can't find what I want. I'm not a graphic artist, just want to fiddle with fotos. Using PDN v3.22. I'm a newbie not just to PDN, but to graphics editing in general. This is also my first time including images (photobucket).

Searching for "vignette", "blurred edge", "edge blur", "soft edge" or variations thereof gets me close. Using "fade" and "white" got me a little closer. So I know that there may be an answer already posted, but I cannot find it, or if I found it, didn't know what it was.

For example, I start with:

example.png

In another post, I found these instructions:

1. on a new layer make fill it white. :PaintBucketTool:

2. Click on gradient then radial. :GradientTool::RadialGradient:

3. Click transperent. :AlphaChannel:

4. From the center right click and pull to the edge or your likings

Which gave me this:

example_fade.png

Very nice, but I want an oval, and Gradient -> Radial doesn't do ovals, as far as I can tell. (Once I've learned how to do this, I also want to do rectangle fades, but Gradient -> Diamond apparently only does squares, not rectangles.)

I also managed to produce this:

example_oval-fade.png

On a white background, it almost fades to white. On a new layer, I made a 30px oval, bucket-filled to white, GaussianBlur+ at 30 (I think, I've tried dozens of combinations). This would almost be acceptable, but the image layer (Object -> Feather set at 10) is still too distinct, not enough "fuzziness", or blending, or blurring or whatever; plus it really just doesn't fade. I even tried repeating Feather at 10 (Ctrl-F), but it seems you only get to feather an image once.

(I even tried adding Distort -> Dents & Frosted Glass to the blurred white oval -- nice effects, even on an oval, but not a fade-to-white.)