Tool problem - Keeping Gradients separate

Im totally new to Paint.NET, so I wanted to test if I could do something good looking. Started with a curvy line, then I tried to use the gradient tool to make it look like it follows the line. What happens is that I can only have one gradient at a time. If I make any changes and go back to the gradient tool, the changes disappear (even the last made gradient) and a NEW gradient shows up. After one second of thinking I came up that there should be something to do to prevent it from happening, I just don't know how.

Hopefully many of you here on the forum know what to do, thats why I came here to ask. :wink:

Adde.jpg

First, I'd change the thread title to something that doesn't break The Rules.

Now that you've done that (you still haven't? Go do it now! Now, I say!!) I can tell you that Paint.NET gradients take up the entire selection (or entire layer if you have no selection active). You can get around this by drawing your new gradient on separate layers.

hmm I'm not too sure what you're trying to do but if you're trying to make a gradient follow the path of a curve, I think the best way to do that would be to make a solid color background, then draw a thick curved line across the middle or wherever. Then use the gaussian blur effect to heavily blur it so the two colors blend into each other. Also keep in mind that is just a quick generic way, there are many other ways to go about it, from using the very powerful Curves adjustment tool, adjusting the contrast, using the different layer blends, and the list goes on.

I hope this at least points you in the right direction. If not, I'm sorry.

What Im trying to do is two gradients that follows a curvy line in the middle. One gradient from the top and down, and the other from the line and down. I just tried to use multiple gradients in the same layer but it didn't work.

Adde.jpg