Controlling Individual Layers

Total newbie here, pretty much to graphics editing in general, not just PDN. (I just finally "got" the difference between curves and curves! One is for lines, the other is for adjusting color. Close enough for now, we'll save that for the future.) I've tried searching both searchpaint.net and the forums, but I don't know what terms to search for; the responses are generally interesting, but do not seem to be relevant.

I opened a photo in PDN. For whatever reason, I now have two layers, a white b/g and the photo. I duplicated the photo, de-activated the original and the b/g (unchecked them in the layers control window), so only the copy layer is active. Using the Ellipse Select tool, I cropped that picture layer. Did some playing with various controls/effects. Went back to the original photo, and it too is cropped, as well as the all-white b/g layer.

I only want the active layer, which is on top, cropped, preserving the un-cropped original for playing with later. So what am I doing wrong? And how do I do it right?

If there is a tutorial or other answer, please just point me in that direction.

One other question: why did the program automatically include a white b/g layer? And do I need to keep it?

Keep in mind my first paragraph above, i.e., please keep responses as simple as possible (but no simpler).

Thanks,

--GeorgeB

pdn-sig_01-2.png

One other question: why did the program automatically include a white b/g layer? And do I need to keep it?

The default white canvas just provides a place to start. You can delete it as soon as you've added another one. :-)

The Doctor: There was a goblin, or a trickster, or a warrior... A nameless, terrible thing, soaked in the blood of a billion galaxies. The most feared being in all the cosmos. And nothing could stop it, or hold it, or reason with it. One day it would just drop out of the sky and tear down your world.
Amy: But how did it end up in there?