OpenMP not possible with VS 2005 Express!?

rpage

Hello Everyone,

I am wanting to make a very, very simple paint program and I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to make the leap from Visual Studio 6 to Visual Studio 2005. I am currently using Visual Studio 2005 Express. I also thought that Paint.NET would be a great way to learn. I have downloaded the lastest source, V3.10, and started compiling using the wonderful instructions in the forum for compiling using VS 2005 Express. I have found that the latest version uses Squish, which in turn calls upon OpenMP, and that OpenMP is not available for VS 2005 Express, http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hs24szh9(VS.80).aspx.

I have been programming for many years, and I have to admit that I feel like a noobie again just looking at VS 2005. Is it possible to download the OpenMP libraries and install them? If so, where? Or can someone point me in the right direction on how to remove the DDS plugin from the project, therefore not needing Squish?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rick

If someone wants to answer my question for someone else, please do. As for myself, I found that it is not as expensive as I thought it would be to upgrade from VS6 to VS2005 Standard and await its arrival. In the meantime, I will download the trial version.

-Rick

Well, this just sucks. Pardon my frustration, but VS2005 Standard doesn't even support OpenMP.

-Rick

Edited: Now that my frustration is out, can someone please lend a hand to someone that is making that great transition from VS6 to VS2005. I am really not interested in the DDS function that uses OpenMP. Where would I begin looking to remove this feature. Please remember that I am still trying to get use to the new IDE. It just seems so much easier in VS6.

Thanks for your help.

-Rick

• 8 months later...