Not Enough Memory to load image

esc952

I'm a newbie to the tool, so maybe I'm doing something wrong. However, I find it hard to believe I'm RAM constrained in this case.

File = 50.4mb Tif

PC = 2gb RAM (of which with way over 1gb is free, before paging), Core2 Duo 2.66ghz, Vista (64-bit)

Paint.NET = 3.10 (says no updates are available), install is fine since many other smaller images open

Can someone give me a clue.

FWIW...

I re-checked my RAM availability. Two different utilities (in addition to Task Mgr) tell me that I've got 1.2Gb of Free RAM plus about 4.8Gb of Free paging file space

Its not a disk issue either, since I've got 160+GB free.

This problem seems to happen on any/all TIFs over 20mb.

Is this a known limitation, a bug ?

Perplexing.

What's the Pixel Size of the image? It sounds huge.

According to Rick,

Paint.NET's architecture is such that it must:

1) Hold the entire image in memory

2) Have a bitmap used for compositing the image

3) Have a scratch surface

(3) is not always in use, but it's important to have it allocated because it makes error handling much simpler. If you clicked on the Clone Stamp and suddenly got an out of memory error, that would be lame. (2) is not always important, as a single layer image effectively needs no compositing.

So, to compute the memory requirements for an image, the following formula can be used:

(W x H x 4) x (L + 2)

W is the width of the image in pixels, H is the height in pixels, 4 is because each pixel takes 4 bytes, L is the number of layers, and the +2 accounts for (2) and (3) above.

So for your 7680x2880 image, which I assume has 1 layer, the total memory required is:

(7680 x 2880 x 4) x (1 + 2)

= (88473600) x (3)

= 265,420,800

= 253.125 MB RAM