Would be great to have an import file on the file menu

I just download and installed a copy of Paint.Net, I'm new to the software and would be great to add an import file where users could upload other formats as vectors images (.ia, .fhd, .drw). I use to create icons and other web utilities using Illustrator and Photoshop. Now I'm working on design tutorials and I would like to offer affordable alternatives to photoshop and illustrator, and Paint.NET is the only application that I know of, other than PhotoPlus from Serif Software, that is free and is a good alternative out of photoshop.

But, one of the things that makes photoshop a basic design tool is that is able to open files as .eps (Encapsule PS), .ai (adobe illustrator, .fhd (Macromedia FreeHand) and many other vector based images. I found a opensource software that sustitute illustrator, but without this import capacity, other than work with photos, I can't use Paint.NET as an alternative. Does anybody accept this challenge... I would appreciated.

Thanks for your attention,

Raphie

http://www.raphiee.com

rv-designed-by-wplogo.gif

Paint.NET does not natively work with any vector formats. You can, however, build file type extensions for the program. Paint.NET would not be able to edit your vector formats, but maybe someone could make something that converted them to a bitmap before importing...

Take responsibility for your own intelligence. 😉 -Rick Brewster

I understand that Paint.NET is not to create a vector or edit a vector image. Maybe I don't explain myself well, sorry for that. What I ask, if it possible to make Paint.NET able to open one of those formats mentioned before but rasterized and on a transparent layer.

For example, create and image in Inkscape, a nice smiliey like the one in my avatar, then add effects in Paint.NET to create a descent PNG for a web site

Could that be posible? Thanks for your answers. You all doing a great job on this Paint.NET. I tried last night and is great.